#OPMProblems– What You May Not Have Heard

by Rhea Leorag

With the “OPM is dead” issue long gone and forgotten, the general public has the false sense of relief that our local music industry has redeemed itself, and that all we have to do is wait for that next “Eraserheads moment” or maybe even “Somedaydream moment”- in short, the next breakthrough act- in order for our music to shine once more. (more…)

Papel – Joey Ayala and Gloc-9 ft. Denise Barbacena

Definitely one of the best local songs I’ve heard. Combining modern electronic and ethnic vibe, plus the amazing simple but cryptic lyrics showcasing the richness of our language. This is one masterpiece more people should hear.


Andreia – Kultura

“Hindi na tayo susunod sa daloy ng kultura
Nasaan na ang mga posturang makata?

Isigaw mo sa buong mundo
Ikaw ay hindi uurong
Tumindig at imulat ang iyong mga mata
At sa Diyos ang tinig, at wala nang iba

Tumalon sa kabilang dako ng ilog
Tumakbo patungo sa iyong paraiso
At diringgin…”

Astig na lyrics, astig na music, astig na banda. You definitely should see them live. \m/




Mojofly – Mata

“‘Wag nang paikutin ang isa’t isa
Lahat ng bagay ay malinaw na
Di na rin kailangang ipagpilitan pa
Di mo na kinakailangan pang magsalita…”

Alaala. Sakit. Pighati. Pagbangon.


Artist: Mojofly


Members (before the band was renamed “DeLara”) :
Lougee Basabas
Ace Evangelista
Ali Alejandro
Richard Carandang

Past members:
Kitchie Nadal
Ricci Gurango
Rann Golamco
Allan Elgar
Junjun Regalado

Rivermaya – 214



One of the wonders of this blog is that apart from sharing music I like, I also get to share other people’s favorite OPM songs. A lot of editing was done for the blog today. And as I look back to previous posts, I remember the people who suggested that I share those songs and I unconsciously take a trip down memory lane. It’s magical.

This song was suggested by a friend I haven’t talked to for a while, shared while having dinner with other friends in our usual fastfood chain. Moments usually taken for granted, memories captured in a song, feelings only the four people part of that conversation will understand.

Nevertheless, I’m pretty sure this song would spark some wonderful memories and feelings for those who’ve listened to it before, or those who still have it in their playlist. (I’m definitely adding it to mine after this post.) Fans of Rivermaya from Rico to Bamboo to Jason and even up to now.

I chose Rico’s version. Because Rico is awesome. (Subjectively speaking.)

“The world would die and everything may lie
Still you shouldn’t cry
‘Cause time may pass
But longer than it’ll last
I’ll be by your side…”


Artist: Rivermaya


Past Members:
Rico Blanco
Bamboo Mañalac
Nathan Azarcon
Perfecto de Castro
Kakoy Legaspi
Jayson Fernandez
Japs Sergio

Current Line-up:
Mike Elgar – vocals, guitar
Mark Escueta – vocals, guitar, percussion
Norby David – vocals, bass
Ryan Peralta – drums


Sugarfree- Makita Kang Muli

“Ipaglalaban ko ang ating pag-ibig
Maghintay ka lamang ako’y darating..”

Makita Kang Muli

OST- Ang Panday (ABS-CBN)

Artist: Sugarfree (Ebe Dancel (vocals/guitars), Jal Taguibao (bass/back-up vocals) and Kaka Quisimbing (drums) )

This is the best Sugarfree music stream I can find with the absence of FB accounts and whatnot since the band disbanded in 2011.


The band’s vocalist, Ebe Dancel, currently leads a solo career.



Also, last April, ‘Sa Wakas, A New Pinoy Rock Musical’ featuring the songs of Sugarfree was staged in PETA. Maybe I’ll write about it soon. In the mean time, here’s their Facebook page:


Jensen Gomez- Umpisa

Oh hello there, June. 🙂

Hindi ko man kayang bumalik sa umpisa, kaya kong magsimula ng panibago. Tungo sa mas magaganda pang mga bagay na naghihintay.



“Mangangarap na lamang ba na mahagkan ka…
O may pag-asa pa na bumalik tayo sa umpisa?”


Artist: Jensen Gomez




Sponge Cola ‘District’ Album Launch

Ano: ‘District’ Album Launch

Saan: Eastwood Central Plaza

Kailan: 9 Oktubre, 7 n.g.


She's Only Sixteen

Newest addition to the Orion Entertainment roster She’s Only Sixteen opens the show.


Roberto Seña on Vocals/Guitar

Andrew Panopio

Andrew Panopio on Guitar

Anjo Silvoza_King Puentespina

Anjo Silvoza on Bass and King Puentespina on Drums

Ace Libre

Never the Strangers’ Ace Libre [Malayo na kami sa stage by this time, kaya hindi na nakuhanan ‘yong ibang band members. 😦 ]

PJ La Vina

Earlier candid shot of NTS’ drummer PJ La Vina [because I wasn’t able to take a picture of the entire band on stage].

Eastwood crowd

Le crowd.


Fellow Atenean bands show some love! 😀

Kaleidoscope Eyes

AMP band Kaleidoscope Eyes 🙂

Runmanila in the house! [I'm a HUGE fan of Runmanila, and this is the first time we met them. Just saying. :D )

Runmanila in the house! [I’m a HUGE fan of Runmanila, and this is the first time we met them. Just saying. 😀 )


Yael Yuzon

Yael Yuzon rockin’ it with opening song “Mahaba Pa Ang Gabi”

Yael Yuzon

They also brought the house down with hits from previous albums (Bitiw, Tambay, Gemini, etc.)

Armo Armovit

Armo owning the stage.


XGF with Miggy Chavez of Chicosci and Los Magnos


Happiness. 😀




Paraluman- Kapitan

“Sa mundo kong galaw ay kay bilis
Panatag ng loob ko’y di maalis
Pagkat ikaw ang aking kapitan..”


Artist: Paraluman

Madeline: Vocals/Guitar
RJ Romero: Guitar
Jay Macalincag: Guitar
Vince Romero: Bass
Jimbo Cuenco: Drums

Digital Single (released November 2011)